LegacyGT.com

Broken CV Joint

hey i am kinda new to cars and dont really know much about anything yet but i am slowly but surely learning... and recently i have been hearing a "clunk" "clunk" "clunk" everytime i take a left turn... so i asked a friend that knows more about cars and he told me to check my CV Joint... so i got online and found out what exactly a CV Jiont is and sure enough i look under my car and the CV Joint boot is ripped... i then got online and saw that you can do it yourself with a pretty basic set of tools but it would take a long ass time to do it myself with the amount of knowledge i have... so i called around and it turns out that i can get a new CV Joint for $45. which is fairly cheap... but i am only 18 and dont have a job so i have a very low income, and would have to start saving up... i then asked the same place how much it would cost to install it, and they said about an hour at $60/hr. so that comes out to $105... is that a good deal?

P.S. the thing is that i also want to gain the knowledge... but it would take me atleast 3 hours and them only one... so what do you guys think? should i go for the knowledge or should i just not mess with it and pay them the $105 to get it done right and quickly?

I did a writeup a while back about this, and a search yielded nothing for me. I have no idea where it went, but I can't find it.

Its not that hard, you just gotta be willing to get your hands dirty. If you're interested in learning about cars, tackle the job yourself. If not, pay someone else to fix it. The thing is, the more you learn now the more money you can save later. After owning a bunch of old, cheap cars I can say from experience that the more you can fix yourself, the more money goes back into your pocket.