LegacyGT.com

Any help is greatly appreciated.

I have a 2006 LGT with 91000 miles. Today the CEL came on and I thought I heard a little squealing so I kept it under 2k the rest of the way home. I had the code read and it was (P011 I think). Had something to do with "A" camshaft position, over advanced, something... I really have a bad feeling it's the turbo, but I have little to no car knowledge. What should I do? I will ask around for a decent mechanic if I can wait till Monday but the dealership might be my best option...

By the way, just from reading another post, I am not trying to be one of the doom and gloom turbo people, I just have a feeling it's my turbo.

I just need to know if any mechanic can diagnose and fix it if it is the turbo (as opposed to the dealer or specialty shops). And, what is the cheapest way to get a good replacement turbo. Thanks for ANY info.

Not sure what the problem is, but if you take it to the dealer for diagnosis make sure to tell them to ask you before they start fixing it. They'll probably charge you for the check even if they don't fix it.

The cheapest way to get a replacement turbo is through the for sale forum here (for a used one) or one of the vendors linked to the site like fred beans (for a new one, but discounted). If you have any of the forum members in your area, they would probably be willing to help you swap the turbo for the cost of pizza and beer as opposed to $20 an hour like the dealer or mechanic.

It's cool; I'm with the band

^^$20/hr for a mechanic. What year is it? 1967? LOL. Every mechanic charges at least $70/hr for work where I live. Most are around $90-$95. Anyway, the squealing sound, did it react to throttle? Kinda sound like a supercharger? If so, I would say it is probably your turbo.