LegacyGT.com

Upgrade exhaust if it stock one breaks?

shutterbc

Hi, I'm a total newbie with respect to performance mods.

OK, got that out of the way. Short version: if your factory exhaust mid pipe broke at the flange, would you consider this a good opportunity to just upgrade the exhaust system? I'm not even sure how much a weld costs to repair it.

The back story: So, I got a bit of a surprise this evening when driving over a bridge on the highway and heard a pop followed by really loud engine noise. I just got an oil change the day before and I instantly thought of my turbo (since I don't know exactly what it sounds like when it blows). Immediately called for a tow just to be safe. I noticed as the car was lowered off the flatbed that my exhaust was broken. What a relief -- relatively speaking, of course.

So... here I was thinking I'd have to get some major engine diagnosis going on, pull out my checkbook, and hope for the best. Broken exhaust is still not great either, but I'd rather fix that than replace an engine. :)

The cause: I'm sure it was rusted, but I did get an oil change yesterday at a tire place that put it on a lift. I did hear louder-than-usual engine noise immediately afterward. I'm going to talk to them tomorrow to see how nice they are... anyone ever had similar experience and left with something to show for it?

DSC_3412.JPG.70ba3a45a94486e5b4d25f47e91e8144.JPG

Welding it will probably be cheaper, but if it were me, I would upgrade to a nice stainless steel exhaust that won't rust. When my clutch went out, I upgraded it with a better clutch...and I will probably do that for the rest of the parts on my car, as they break, I will buy new, better parts for it.

if that's a photo of your midpipe (and not your downpipe). upgrade it.

you dont need a tune or anything else to change your cans and mid, a couple of the low end systems, such as the cxlighting (off ebay) or the gimmick catback you can get for under $400.