LegacyGT.com

Question for the open source tuners out there.

McDowell Performance Tunin

I've been tuning my car via OS for several months and have tweaked my map to where I am not knocking while doing 3rd gear pulls or daily driving. I am wondering which approach to take to get a bit more power. I'm at a pretty high altitude (4,500ft or so) and wondering if anyone tuning their own car has experience with similar conditions. I'm running a pretty high WGDC 85% max, and about 17.5 PSI boost. I know the turbo (VF40) will be limited to a certain point because of the altitude, so is my timing going to be the best thing to adjust? I know I can get a smaller restrictor pill, but am trying to avoid adding anything else to the car. Right now, all I have is an STI UP and gutted 1st cat on my DP. Would gutting the last cat make much of a difference? I can run catless here without failing emissions, which I just discovered when I had to have an emissions test a few weeks ago. (they only check the OBD-II for CEL's). Anyway, I'm starting to ramble so I'll wrap this up. Here is my dyno graph, using airboy's spreadsheet and 60-80MPH time. Also, my last LV and 3rd gear pull. I'd appreciate any feedback from you more experienced OS tuners and as always, thanks for any help, or constructive criticism ;).

Dyno.png.c0c8d9933fea366ad592a0710db9dbfa.png

348866022_LearningView_SS_3-8-2010100442PM.jpg.cdd6537809a9549395cfa68faee20d31.jpg

romraiderlog_20100308_215308.csv

why don't you just leave well enough alone? You can crank up the boost a little more but that's going to reduce the life of your turbo. You can add a bit of timing here and there but don't expect big gains. And knock isn't good for engine life. Now removing the rear cat should result in some gains and isn't going to hurt anything as long as you keep an eye on your boost control tuning.