LegacyGT.com

What is a good subwoofer for a bridgeable 2x100 watt Blaupunkt amplifier?

hutru01

I recently sold the oem subwoofer in my wagon. It just wasn't what I was looking for in terms of the bass. I like a little bit more of a thump.

I am going to go the LOC route and just buy a 10 inch subwoofer in a sealed box that will be powered by this 2x100 watt Blaupunkt amplifier that is bridgeable.

Since I have 200 watts of total power, I am thinking that a subwoofer with 250 RMS would be sufficient. I am no expert so that is why I am seeking advice in the audio thread. I am pretty unfamilir with ohms impedance as well.

I know I don't want a sub that would be underpowered such as a JL audio w6, but what do you guys think I should go with? Any advice/suggestions are welcome. Thanks!

200W Max power or 200W RMS power? You want to make sure you come close to matching the max power of both the subs and amp. Some amps will have lime 400W Max and only 125W RMS.

IIRC, they amp is 75 RMS per channel. Therefore bridged it would be 150 RMS. So would a 200 RMS sub be too much? I don't want to blow the sub, nor do I want the amp to overheat. I blew a cerwin vega years ago with this amp.

Ok, so I found the specs of my amplifier.

Blaupunkt Velocity V250

http://ampguts.realmofexcursion.com/Blaupunkt_Velocity_V250/

RMS Ratings

2 x 50W @ 4 ohms (0.1% THD)

2 x 75W @ 2 ohms (0.1% THD)

2 x 100W @ 1 ohm

1 x 150W @ 4 ohms bridged

1 x 200W @ 2 ohms bridged

Subwoofer choice

JL Audio 12W1v2-4

Specs

Power Handling (continuous) RMS: 150W

Free Air Resonance (Fs) : 23.68 Hz

Electrical "Q" (Qes) : 0.443

Mechanical "Q" (Qms) : 6.465

Total Speaker "Q" (Qts) : 0.414

Equivalent Compliance (Vas) : 3.739 cu. ft. (105.81 litres)

One-Way, Linear Excursion (Xmax) : 0.375 in (9.5 mm)

Efficiency (1W/1m) : 86.81 dB SPL

Effective Piston Area (Sd) : 81.392 sq. in. (0.0525 sq. m.)

DC Resistance (Re) : 4.104 ohm

Nominal Impedance : 4 ohm

Nominal Diameter : 12 in (300 mm)