LegacyGT.com

cv boot replacement

teamdarkstyle

i was just changing the oil my gt and when i was under there i notice grease all over the cat. turns out the cv boot was riped in half.

i need to get it fix before i mess the hole thing up.

subaru wants $300 to $400 to just replace the boot $1200 to 1500 for the hole axel.

i have never done anything like that before and i know i dont have some of the tool to do it.

if anyone has done it before and is looking to make some money on the side

let me know i dont wanna send it to west houston i hate the service lady she is a bitch. she never does what i wanted her to do.

for just the boot!?!?!? My bill was $175 from subaru...I called in and had it covered (dealership denied warranty coverage) i was still under warranty

point being..what are they charging $300-400 for???

hey team I had the same thing happen to me while i was driving to Mississippi. I ended just buying an axle and replacing it myself on base while I was in Lackland (thats the easiest way but more expensive the part) You can do the boot make sure the axle isnt clicking before you replace otherwise your gonna waste money on replacing that boot and then need to swap the whole thing anyways. Its pretty simple to replace the boot just make sure you get all the dirt out of the bearings before you replace parts should only cost you about 70 bux. Good Luck

• 3 weeks later...

How much for the boot?

Also I have the added security warranty... which so far has not covered anything.

According to the info I have in Power Train part 3 under front wheel dive the following is covered, "final drive housing, all internal parts, axle shafts, constant veolocity joints and boots, front hub bearings, double offset joints, seals and gaskets."

Does that cover the ripped inner CV Boot?

Also is there a walkthrough on doing this labor?

If it isn't too involved I might have to replace it myself.