LegacyGT.com

advices please from LGT owners.

Hi, I just got my 08 LGT last month. manual trans.

This is my first manual tranny car and also goes with turbo.

Things I have been thinking to prolong the car's life:

- what is a good oil brand to lessen oil consumption (synthethic or regular) I kinda like synthethic, but if regular will help to lessen the consumption I will use it.

- How long do I have to wait to turn off my engine after trips

- I hear rattle when I hit 2500 rpm, when i shift up, its gone. Is that normal?

- turbo maintainance? if there are any, please let me know.

- should I change the oil at 1000? because the car is an 08 brand new with 170 miles when i bought it. It may have been sitting at the dealer for 365+ days. or just wait for 3k?

- clutch replacement? I want to save the money now to get a new clutch. Just in case... im new to manual trans. I hope I'm not wearing it that much. (im not riding it.)

- If you fully press the clutch in does it also wear down? I am making a turn while slowing down, I dont want the car to die so i keep it pressed all the way down, then shift the right gear. I'm afraid it might stall if i don't hold the clutch down. advices please....

I have been lurking the forum everyday reading and learning. thanks!:)

~dru

First thing with a new MT driver.

Go drive the car by yourself, or with an experienced MT driver riding shotgun.

no other distractions. Radio off, Cell phone off/muted. Just get used to driving with the stick. and Forget the Turbo right now, keep it under 3500 if possible. if you have another driver with you, only talk about the driving. keep the distractions minimal.

Go find an empty parking lot at night, practice taking off and low speed cornering in gear. (taking off meaning "normal" not launching the car..) get used to the "feel" of a MT.

It's hard to explain in words, what is so much easily learned by doing.