LegacyGT.com

Chirped tires going into 2nd?! AWD what?!

rallispec

Okay - so i'm new to this AWD thing -- and just having passed the 1000 mile marker i decided to at least try a mild launch to see what exactly it could do. (didnt want to be to rough though, so no high rpm clutch dropping.)-- i just had to try it at least once, it's been 3 long weeks of driving slow.

so anyhow, pulls hard in first gear, i shift at around 5,800rpms and my tires chirped. I figured it would be a lot harder to chirp tires in an AWD car. So now i've been trying to figure out if it was the front tires, back tires, or all the tires that chirped.. most of the power should be going to the back when you accelerate, right?

Oh well-- it was fun. Definetly better than my Nissan. (that car would chirp going into second and third if you looked at it wrong.. didnt pull nearly as hard as the legacy though)

Now i've just got to keep it easy for a few more days until i get the oil changed - then i start shopping for the AP.

Ok the thing is with the Subaru AWD system is, once the system detects slippage, it will move the power to the opposite side of the GT. I would say it would be yr fronts that would have churped because, while u are still accelerating, you have more lift at the front hence putting a lot more weight on the rear.

Adam.

AWD, have to love it.

It's called 250 hp and 250 lb ft of torque :D Enjoy!!!!

- Mike

<duffman>oh yeah</duffman>

gotta love it. Beats the hell out of the 175 i was running before. My g/f isnt quiet as thrilled with it as i am though :confused:

I suppose it makes sense that the front would have slipped-- i guess i just assumed that spread out between 4 wheels, it would take a lot more to chirp the tires. Guess i understimated what 250hp can really do.

:insert evil laugh emoticon here;