LegacyGT.com

OBXT or LGT Wagon

toycarrier

Hey Guys,

I have been driving a 98 4runner for the last 2 years and want to upgrade to something a bit newer and gets better gas mileage.

Although its not something I need, I want to get a turbo wagon w/ AWD. After having a turbo car in the past, there's nothing like it.

This leaves me with either the XT or GT. I really admire the ground clearance that the OBXT offers but the LGT doesnt seem to be to bad either.

My main concern is that I will be carrying around a hitch carrier quite often and I am worried about it bottoming out pretty easily on the back of an LGT. Does anyone here use a hitch carrier on their LGT? What kind of ground clearance does it have back there?

As far as mpg go, it seems that the LGT gets a bit better gas mileage - 25vs 24 on the highway. Another thing- What are the MPG differences for a manual vs auto on the high way? Are the final drives different?

I'm having a hard time deciding :)

Thanks in advance.

Great site, thanks for the link.

I have read a few people saying they have issues with bike racks scraping out back so that is enough for me. I will be transporting some very expensive stuff on the hitch carrier so I can't have it getting slammed around.

Now the decision is on Manual or auto. I love manual and like the fact that it does a little better on the highway than the auto. Only thing is do I need it? The auto to me is better for a daily driver. I have another car (89 325is) that is my weekend fun car that I enjoy shifting around.

I am up in Morgantown WV right now and the hills make driving a manual a bit more difficult.

Still undecided though :)

The hitch will go on either....

I use a hitch mounted rack on a lowered LGT wagon. I have slightly brushed the ground once, but that was me being stupid. I go through the same place all the time and simply have to go in at a little of an angle...

Mt gets better than AT, but I don't know the amount...

:spin: