LegacyGT.com

2005 Legacy GT Squeak? Noob Here....Springs?

daillcyruz

hey guys i just picked up a 2005 GT 5MT and I keep hearing squeaks now. Its more pronounce going over bumps or when starting off in 1st and 2nd gear but on highway I dont hear anything usually. I have a feeling that its suspension. and yes I did hit the "search" button and searched but find alot of open ended questions. Here is a link of the squeaks.

Pay attention to seconds 5+7 and 27-29.

Click here to watch 'Sqeak-in-Legacy'

didn't hear anything. consider bringing it in to have someone look at it.?
258k miles - Stock engine/minor suspension upgrades/original shocks/rear struts replaced at 222k/4 passenger side wheel bearings/3 clutches/1 radiator/3 turbos

squeaks? i had them but it was my brakes but suspension does help braking. I got new cross drilled/slotted rotors all 4 wheels no more squeaking =)

Thanks snoop, did you listen to the sound clip though? I have a feeling its the brakes 2....

It has that loose belt sound but I don't think that's it. If there's no squeak while idling, you can probably rule that out. From what the OP described and the sound clip I'd say it's a loose heat shield somewhere. Look for signs if the car was ever modded (new bolts, wrench marks on bolts, etc) and that might give you some clues.

The best thing you can do to find the squeak is stick your head out the door while driving...that way you get a good idea where the sound is coming from. :lol:

I really was gonna stick my head out there and see what I hear LOL. I actually did it today It really sounds like BREAKS. 85 Brakes 15 springs or suspension I think Imma go to the AZP meet on sunday to see if they put up on stilts lol take brakes off n wat not .