LegacyGT.com

MD Registration Questions

tjwilke

So, as some may have seen my other thread, I just moved to Maryland for work (Army Civilian) and have a number of questions about getting my modded 08 LGT registered in this state.

First of all, do I need to have it registered in MD? I left my mother, who is a resident of Washington State where I am registered, on my registration because I was a full-time student in TX for the last year and didn't want to deal with changing registration while I was there. Since she is the primary registrant on my vehicle which is registered in her state, do I need to bother changing it?

If I do go ahead with changing to MD, I understand that I have to put my car through an inspection (which I know it won't pass). I remember seeing a list somewhere of what they inspect, does someone have that? Also, what do they actually inspect. As far as I know, my windows are too dark (20%), my taillight tint needs to go, I'll need to trade for some stock headlights (painted & modded w/HIDs), and buy some new bumper reflectors (painted mine). This seems like a huge pain in the ass but I will do it if I have to and might just convert the whole car back to stock while I am at it.

So, can anyone recommend a place to remove my tint? Can anyone recommend a shop that may be less strict for the inspection? I don't want to fail the inspection for a stupid reason.

Also, I am stage 2 (AP, Catless TBE, K&N filter w/snorkus delete, pulley, etc.) will this cause me any problems for inspection?

I've been reading through the MVA site and read what they had posted but I am more interested in first hand experiences. Thank you in advance! This is all very new to me because Washington doesn't have inspections so please be kind.

I've lived in MD for a few years now. I've not found a shop who'll pass you with illegal tint. Or other illegal mods.

check out this link: http://mva.state.md.us/MVAProg/VEIP/default.htm