LegacyGT.com

1998 Subaru 2.5 Gt Help!

Hey guys,

I am not a mechanic, I dont know much about cars but I have a 98' legacy 2.5 gt limited black on black tinted and I would love to upgrade it but in a cheap manor.

Right now I am getting a back strut and two front tie rods taken care of ranging to 300$.

I am looking for something that would cheaply upgrade my cars performance. Someone has told me about taking away the cat and throwing a pipe in.

Well dude if you want to go cheap, theres not a whole lot you can do without the knowhow. Aftermatket parts are kinda pricey on these cars. You can cut the cat out and put on a flowmaster but you still have the tiny kinked up stock pipe thats holding back a lot or you can make a cool-air intake out of 3 in exhaust pipe. If you want cheap you need to make almost all your own parts.

If you're looking for noticeable power gains from a non turbo 2.5 save your money. Nothing short of a turbo kit is going to give you more than a few of WHP.

how much is the turbo to install and buy for my 98? I love this thing i just wanna make it better, what do you mean about the cold air intake with exhaust pipes? id have to have someone do it for me because i do not know how to workout my car.

should i buy a universal cheap cold air intake system? and have someone install it.

No. A CAI has a good chance of killing your mass air flow(MAF) sensor in that car. I remember when I had my '00 Impreza a lot of '98 2.5RS owners had MAF issues with intakes. You'll also effectively gain nothing but noise and potentially lose low end torque.

A turbo kit is ~$4000 plus installation but you'll also need better brakes and suspension to handle the extra power.

what about some kind of new exhaust? i just do not want to spend alot of money on the car, a turbo kit would be nice but its not up my alley right now. if there is anything possible else i could install to upgrade the car that would be nice.