LegacyGT.com

Boost Cut Problem...

RobY

Lately I have been experiencing some weird boost cut issues. It happens after I drive some distance in 5th gear then downshift into a lower gear.

When I punch it the boost dosent go over wastegate pressure or about 9 psi. Its begining to get really irritating.

The Boost reverts back to full boost after a few shifts. Or it sometimes suddenly comes back on a few seconds later.

I have no idea whats going on. I have a scanmaster and the ECU is showing positive KC during the incident all the time. The boost just randomly cuts at times.

Do you think my boost control solnoid is going or do you think its a software issue?

I have a COBB OTC Stage II map. I also happened at times with my TDC etune map.

Start checking vacuum lines and zip-tie them as you go if you haven't already. There is a t-connector under the intercooler that is notorious for coming apart. You might also want to check the intercooler to throttle body hose to see if the clamps are tight.
Let's kick this pig!

KC values are positive does that have anything to do with IAM?

In your tune you (like almost all tunes) have + KC numbers specified for certain load/rpm cells.

If your IAM is 1.0 then you will be running the max KC values (assuming there is no knock).

If your IAM is 0.5 then you will be running 50% of the max KC value (again assuming there is no knock).

You need to log Feedback Correction to see if there is any knock (and check IAM just before and after logging, no need to actually log it). Feedback correction shows if the ECU is pulling timing.

As an example showing how you could easily have + KC numbers and be knocking: a particle cell calls for +8 KC, your IAM is at 0.5 and you are pulling 2 degress of timing at that moment due to knock. You will still show (8 * .5 -2) 2 degrees of positive KC, but it is definitely not good.

FWIW I blew my engine on the dyno showing 2 degrees of positive KC.