LegacyGT.com

SpecB Lowering Springs Help!

SubieChik

I was just wondering if anyone here has lowered their SpecB? I am looking to get some springs soon but recently just heard a bad review about the ones I was about to buy. I am too cheap for coilovers right now so I wanted the Tein STechs. Someone told me that they are a very harsh ride and I don't want that. They also have a regular LGT. Would it be different with the Bilsteins?? Anyways I don't want STi Pinks becuase they only lower the car half an inch (that is why I was going with the Teins because it was more aggressive drop at an 1.5"). I have heard about the swift springs but I don't know if tht will drop it enough for me....:confused: Doesthe swifts offer a nice ride?? Has anyone heard anything good about Eibach?? Someone please help:eek: (Especially if you can recommend something that you have or have riden in).

I'm not an expert, but have been doing some research around here, and I'll throw a couple of things out there for you to think about.

first your struts have a given travel, which was designed around the springs you currently have. the more drop you have with an aggresive spring, the less travel you get in your strut. You've got nice struts, and it be a shame not to use them as they were designed. It seems they match nicely with the pinks, but you won't get a lot of drop, as you stated.

Why do you want drop? This may seem like a silly question, but do you want drop for performance? or for the look? answering this question will help folks get you where you want to be. More drop will be harder on the soft parts of your suspension, and will chew up your rear LCA bushing quick, so you will want to go ahead and replace that with an after market, and save your self the cost of an extra alignment.

look at subiwiki.com. there is a list of aftermarket springs and their drop/spring rates.