LegacyGT.com

How ballistic would you go?

This has been bugging me all week. Last weekend I went to the Michigan-Wisconsin football game. I parked on the street in same neighborhood that I have been parking for over 15 years and have never had a problem. But last weekend as I am walking up to my car I see some jackass sitting on the front of my hood, not only that he has all of his stuff on the hood (coat, seat cushion). I fuming and I want to light into him but my son is with me (8 years old) so I hold it together and tell in in uncertain term to get off. He answers " hey I am just waiting for my friends" and grabs his stuff and proceeds to sit on the hood of an RX-8. My son knew that something was up as he could tell that I was pissed-off. I looked over the hood and there was no damage or scratches so we just got into the car and left. Yes I flipped him the bird out the window as we drove away.

Should I have said more? I was not going to fight him. Plus I think that it is very difficult to get blubbery flesh out of intercooler vanes.

Ok mini rant over.

• Replies 73
  • Created
  • Last Reply

No, it would have done no good. A few years back the (large) wife of a fellow car club member walked up to my freshly restored 1966 MGB and flopped down on the alloy hood. I just about passed out but said nothing. When she removed her butt from my car there was an imprint of the oil filler cap in the soft aluminum plus imprints of her substantial cheeks. That hood had cost me $250, used, in 1994 money.

All I could think about at the time was how I had felt in 1982 when I beat the crap out of a guy for repeatedly slamming his car door into the side of my cherry Scirocco after I yelled at him for doing it once as he got of his car. Felt great while I did it but afterwards I realized what an ass I had really been.

Unless the guy weighed 40 lbs I would guess there is some damage.