LegacyGT.com

Question about auto climate control system...

Max Rebo

I noticed something this morning that I hadn't previously. Not sure if it's normal or not. :confused:

Granted, I've only had my car for a week, and I'm new to Subaru, so it could be nothing...

While driving, the HVAC system was off, but cold air was still blowing from the vents as if the fan were on low. The air coming through seemed a bit too strong to be outside air. This was confirmed when I stopped the car at a traffic light -- air continued to blow from the vents.

Is there any way to turn the fan completely off? Or... is it normal for it to stay on like that? I even tried a trick similar to in my VW, which was to set the system to recirculate and then turn the fan down as low as it would go. That still didn't work.

Is this a problem or is it normal?

TIA

First off, this thread belongs in Interior.

Second, this is normal. If you go to the Interior/Audio forum, there is a sticky detailing how your ACC works.

Basically, you either have to turn the system to "recirculate" before turning it off completely, or when it's just venting air freely through the vents, you can hit the recirculate button only to close the vents and stop airflow.

Most importantly, read the sticky to learn the ACC features and system. It's been a great system for me since I've learned how to use it.

Brady

First off, this thread belongs in Interior.

Second, this is normal. If you go to the Interior/Audio forum, there is a sticky detailing how your ACC works.

Basically, you either have to turn the system to "recirculate" before turning it off completely, or when it's just venting air freely through the vents, you can hit the recirculate button only to close the vents and stop airflow.

Most importantly, read the sticky to learn the ACC features and system. It's been a great system for me since I've learned how to use it.

Seems like it's "Basic Operation" to me... but oh well. :)