LegacyGT.com

Resolved: 2005 OBXT Misfiring looking for advice on diagnostics before pulling motor(Xpost from 3rd gen Outback)

Issue Resolved

Cross posting here for visibility. 

2005 OBXT 5mt, Looking for advice on what to check next before I commit to pulling motor. 
Current mods: VF52, catless up-pipe, AEM AFR gage, partial tune.

Some Background for context: Bought the car a while back as a project. Clutch was shot, it wasn't idling perfect, and had an oil leak; trailered it home. Car has 125k mi but the engine had just been rebuilt after turbo went, new short block with forged sti crank. 3k mi on the engine, figured it was worth a gamble and got it for cheap. Clutch wasn't as issue, but found the engine installer missed bolts here and there, broke a few minor things, nothing I couldn't fix. Oil leak turned out to be a reman turbo that was leaking internally. I rebuilt an ebay VF52 and installed with intention of leaning to tune the car (Im an ME with professional experience tuning diesel engines). Thanks to all who contributed to the opensource projects like Romraider! After much research and wrenching getting everything buttoned up I started tuning. Idle issue resolved (vacuum leaks), Knock issues resolved with a new knock sensor and wiring. Stopped tuning while establishing the Air-Fuel relationship. Data was showing inconsistency leading me to fuel issues. I assumed the injectors were original. The fuel trims pointed to an over fueling/underperforming injector. I pulled and cleaned the injectors as best I could without a dedicated rig. Reinstalled and resumed tuning, results were good, data was looking good, car felt strong. Fuel trims were within 5 % then the following happened. 

Current issues:
Leaving work car suddenly was hard to start and ran terrible, I had driven around lunch time with a little spirited driving, car was runing well.