LegacyGT.com

homeland security runs a credit check at the dealer?

SeanP

Now I heard something totally fawked up tonight when buying my new outback. I was writing a check for it, didn't need financing. The presented me with a credit app anyway. I balked. No need for anybody to peek at my credit if I am paying in full with a check right? Well they proceeded to tell me that I needed to fill out the credit check because this is a way for Homeland Security to screen for terrorists buying new cars? WTF???? I never heard of such a think. I still balked. F- them. No one needs my social security number when I am purchasing a car with cash. Guy looked at me like I was insane. I guess I was the only one to go tell them to jump in a lake. He talked to me like I am an a-hole. I about walked, kid was hungry, yadda yadda.

Funny thing is he asks me where I work, again FU none of your business. I tell him I work in IT, and he said he used to work in IT, "tough racket". Turns out I met this guy, he went from selling cell phones to SUN servers for a VAR to selling cars and financing cars. Bwaaahahaha. Sorry dude, you're looking down on me when I make 4X your salary. Yeah I am the one who is a loser because I won't kowtow to an invasion of privacy.

But i digress....

Is there a program for dealers to have to run your credit that is mandated to keep the "terists" from buying Subarus and putting Greenpeace and Gore04 stickers on them?

SeanP

• Replies 91
  • Created
  • Last Reply

if you're depositing more than 10k cash in the bank, the bank has to ask you questions to make sure you're not a drug dealer and report it to the FBI or something like that.

I THINK dealers like to run credit checks on someone paying by a regular check only to cover themselves to make sure that you're credit safe, you don't bounce a lot of checks, etc. After all, they wouldn't want to hand you the keys to a $27k car, and they get a rubber check in return.