LegacyGT.com

Is this too good to be true?

Cruising these threads on these cars makes me think this spec B with 188k miles is just a mile away from a complete engine failure, but maybe people only post when there is a problem...

I am new to subaru but super excited to get in a gen 4 legacy. The price on this one makes me hesitant, but it seems like hes done quite a bit of serious maintenance and most of it reasonably recently. The clutch and water pump seem to be about due though.

Would greatly appreciate any advice from someone who knows what they are talking about, either 'stay the hell away' or 'Just check these things' would be awesome!

Going to be a daily driver, but daily might be aggressive. I don't commute to work so more of a fun car that ill take when the other ride is busy.

Thanks!

https://fortcollins.craigslist.org/cto/d/loveland-rare-2006-subaru-legacy-gt/7355424089.html

Definitely want to have the turbo and compression checked and buy at your own risk. Banjo filters need to be inspected. I have a friend that has a 2008 spec b with 200k but from what I understand they need some good maintenance to remain trouble free for that long. Def worth a very thorough inspection.

I bought one with 150k and didn't realize the turbo was borked. I was a bit hasty and before figuring out what was wrong it went out on me and filled the motor up with bearing material. Not an experience you want to have without being prepared for it.

A 180K Subaru turbo engine will consume a lot of oil and need to be replaced within the next 50K. If you don't mind that, buy the car. The Spec B of that model year isn't really that special as it's a 5-speed.