LegacyGT.com

Startup Knock

Seems the consensus on the startup knock is "they all do that". 5000 miles on my new Legacy and that is the only thing I hate about it. I'm not an engineer but it seems to me that the inverted oil filter may be the cause. Probably wont be keeping the car long if it doesn't get resolved. Will be going to the dealer soon for the first service so I'll see what they have to say.

No it not the placement of the oil filter. It is not a knock. Most likely it is the metal timing chain and metal CVT chain. Yes it will be a little noisy until the oil circulates which only takes a few moments and will silence when the vehicle is a operating temperature. As a flatter is a badge of pride.

Laughing at oneself and with others is good for the Soul![emoji2]

Laughing at Oneself and with Other is good for the Soul😆

No it not the placement of the oil filter. It is not a knock. Most likely it is the metal timing chain and metal CVT chain. Yes it will be a little noisy until the oil circulates which only takes a few moments and will silence when the vehicle is a operating temperature. As a flatter is a badge of pride.

Just seems to me that is is oil pressure related since it goes away when the oil pressure comes up. I have had other cars that make the same sound after a oil change until the oil filter is filled on the first start.

I believe it is due to the position of the oil filter. However it is only

light valve clatter that lasts for a couple of seconds. Nothing to worry about.

If it was a real problem, Subaru's wouldn't last as long as they do.

My 17' Outback w/35K miles has that startup Rattle, for just a second... At first I thought it was a heat shield rattle... I wouldn't call it a Knock...

Heck, I don't even notice it anymore...