LegacyGT.com

Forged engine: Newbie question

Hi everyone,

I just got back my car which has a freshly rebuild fully forged engine and in running the car the last 2 days I've noticed the following:

1 - Some noise from the piston (slap/knock type of sound). During cold start up its more pronounced then once its running at operating temp.

2 - A little bit of white/blue smoke coming out the exhaust every now and then when starting up the car.This seems to only happen when the car has ran a while and has sit for 5-10min...so far on cold start everything seems fine.

My buddy who's a Subaru and rally team mechanic was the person to perform the install and has advised me this is normal. Because of the forged pistons, the pistons sit "loser" in the cylinder causing the sound and some oil to pass.

I don't think my buddy has any reason to lie to me, he's installed a bunch forged engines now and says its perfectly normal. However seeing I'm new to forged engines I'm looking to those who have experience to confirm his statement and relieve my concerns.:(

Thanks,

1. that's normal for forged pistons. Get used to it.

2. most likely normal condensation be burned off in he exhaust system.

Lot's of cars emit a little white vapor on start up sometimes, depends on dew point and temp.

You should spend more time on here, read the sticky's and learn a lot.

Keep an close eye on oil consumption and always keep it topped off. a little over is better then not enough oil.

305,600miles 5/2012 ej257 short block, 8/2011 installed VF52 turbo, @20.8psi, 280whp, 300ftlbs. (SOLD).  CHECK your oil, these cars use it.

Engine Build - Click Here

Thanks for the feedback,

I'm not a novice by any means when it comes to Subaru's....I've been an owner for the past 15yrs. :)