LegacyGT.com

driving in snow soon... so tires?

:confused: never done it! im about to move from mid texas to washington for a month then finally nebraska! im currently trying to prep my car for the journey. I'm fiddling with the idea of lifting my car sooner than planned for shits and giggles, but right now everything is stock. my question, however, is what tires should i use? ill only be in washington for a month, but will be moving to a nother snowy climate. do i need a tire with decnt temp range or should i value staying safer in snow? is there even that big of a differencㄷ? andi do need shocks soon

total newb, so all inputs are welcomed. and any tips for the lifting route is appreciated

If you dont want a dedicated set of snow and summer tires, then find a set of good all-terrains with high ratings/temp ranges for cold weather. I lifted mine with outback suspension and then did all seasons and it did very well in the mountains during winter.

I have Bf Goodrich Advantages? I think and they're pretty nice in all weather and were able to get me through a max of 10in of snow. But they wear out really quickly, I have about 30k on mine and I'll be replacing them in spring. Go on tirerack.com and look through tires and read the ratings, they are pretty helpful

General Grabber AT/2. Best all-around tire out there IMO. They make them in wheel sizes as small as 15" for the Subaru. Once my current tires wear out, or when the first snow falls here, I'll be switching to those.

+1 to general grabbers, had them on my truck and loved them. I'm kinda tired of having all-seasons that are mediocre on the street so once these goodrich tires wear out I'm going to have a dedicated set of Bridgestone Blizzak tires on the current rims, then doing some sort of sticky street tire for my other set of rims.