LegacyGT.com

'05 OBXT handling concerns

Just picked up the car a couple weeks ago. I've already taken it on a 1,000 mile road trip, but I'm still learning what is "normal". I previously owned an '05 Legacy GT wagon and '06 Legacy 2.5i, so I'm somewhat familiar with the platform.

The car has 136k miles and for all intents and purposes is bone stock. I was told all four shocks/struts were replaced at around 100k. Not sure what brand; possibly Subaru parts.

Here's what I'm experiencing: The car gets easily upset over bumps, especially in corners. It wallows more than I expected, and the back end feels like it steps out; I have to correct with steering to keep in in a straight line. It feels like the rear shocks are weak.

I've gone over the suspension front to back and the only things I found obviously wrong were a little play in the right front wheel bearing and the rear stabilizer bushings have some wear, which I wouldn't expect to affect handling THAT much. Shocks/struts pass the bounce test and visually look good.

The steering wheel is slightly off center, maybe 5° to the left, so I plan on getting an alignment done. The tires (Yokohama YK580, I seem to remember these are OEM type?) don't have uneven wear, so I'm not too concerned about a rear toe issue, but it is something I considered.

Is there anything I should take a closer look at that may not reveal itself through normal means? Or is that just the way the car is when it's stock?

The Outback wallows from the factory, unfortunately.

Most of the symptoms you are describing sounds like a combination of poorly matched shocks and undersized rear anti-sway bar. You also have higher profile tires than the LGT, a few extra PSI would not hurt anything. Check your alignment.

Many of the Legacy GT suspension components can be fitted to the Outback. You can find several long threads here of people's experiences with various combinations.