LegacyGT.com

Upper Radiator Hose Replacement

I've done some searching, but time is of importance and I haven't found the info I'm looking for...

Has anyone replaced their upper radiator hose (part number 45161AJ00A or 45161AJ060, I think) on a 5th Gen 2.5GT? Mine just burst and I'm supposed to be driving to Vermont tomorrow. Considering having it towed to a dealership/mechanic, but if they can't get to it tomorrow, I'm wondering if it's an easy replacement?

Obviously it's pretty accessible, but how tough are the clamps? Would I need to bleed to coolant system after, or just make sure the level is high enough in the reservoir? Any first hand tips or a link to a walkthrough or the appropriate manual pages would be greatly appreciated!

I'm not an experienced mechanic, but I can turn a wrench if someone can spoon-feed me the information! :lol:

use pliers on clamps to remove. Just squeeze the two tabs together and slide down onto the hose about 4in or so

Subaru should have hose in stock. the hard part is going to be bleeding the system.

you can re use the OEM clamps no problem, They are better than the screw ones as they apply even pressure all around and don't have a pinch point.

in a nutshell to bleed after replacement you would

1. with car off fill radiator

2. squeeze upper hose slowly to get more air out

3. add coolant and repeat step 2 above until you cannot get any more air out

4. start engine

5. keep topping off radiator until no more air comes out. You should be able to bleed the system fairly well before the engine gets warm.

6. put rad cap back on

7. add coolant to overflow about 3/4 full

8. drive car a few miles

9. let cool off and then check coolant and add as needed to keep the coolant at the full level when warm. repeat step 8 and 9 each time you drive the car over the next few days.

I looked at my 2.5i and it looks pretty easy. It should be an easy job with pliers, cutters (see below) and coolant. My tips