LegacyGT.com

Newb wanting to get preventative issues solved.

I plan on buying the killer b ultimate oil pickup. The previous owner took out the filter of the OEM, but I'd rather do it right.

I also read, in the stickies, the oil line should be upgraded. Saw infamous as a good brand, but I'm unable to find it. Their site didn't have it. Would the one for a WRX work on our cars? Seems a lot of parts are interchangeable. But not all. Sorry if these are dumb questions. I'm new to turbos and have a lot to learn. Normally after a week, I've picked up on most things. This car has me spinning in circles, between the saggy ass and which suspension I want, and all the bolt on parts for the turbo. I have way more questions about that stuff, but I'll try to spread them out and focus on the preventative maintenance for now.

08 LGT spec b.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Read this:

http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/reliability-modifications-178342.html?t=178342

The oil lines / filter in the later model years seems to be better designed. I am not sure that I have seen any VF46s fail in the same way the VF40s were. The orientation is different which maybe cause them to be less prone to clogging.

There really is no need for an upgraded oil line / filter on them OEM turbo. I would consider replacing the filter in your oem line. If you do your oil changes like you are supposed to all should be good.

Don't make any changes until you figure out what they are and why you want them. Focus on one area first and deal with that. Especially if you are new to the cars.

Has the timing belt / waterpump / thermostat service been done?

I'd just replace the oil line with an OEM part from the dealer. I did the one on my 08 spec b just a few weeks ago - it was getting old.

you're being smart attacking the preventative maintenance first!