LegacyGT.com

hesitation under load

Hi I'm New to subies and trying to fix my grandmas car its a 97 Subaru legacy cutback 2.5L it was throwing the p0400 code along with a misfire on cylinder 4 I have I believe taken care of that had plugged intake ports so took the intake off replaced gasket and cleaned the ports and took the wire fro cyl4 and put it on cyl 3 vise versa and took the code off so figured bad wires and replaced them pulled,plugs and it looks good seafoam the intake and also replaced all vacuum lines now the bad side if its cold it runs great after it warmed up it acts like it wants to die it coughs and hacks my brother replaced the timing belt/chain wasn't sure what they run timing wise but he did replace it and also timing tentionor it idled beautiful but soon as its up to temp it wants to die checked vac solenoid and its working any help would be great thanks in advance

It could also be 02 sensors, once they go bad and are not replaced in a timely manner the ecu will compensate by running it lean pretty much all the time. Usually you get about 120k out of them so if the mileage is close to those intervals I'd suspect them to be the problem.

thanks for the reply I replaced bank 1 sensor 1 because it did through a code for that and that code came off and the p0400 came up upon further research I vacuum tested the egr valve and transducer and they tested fine did notice egr valve sticking open so I cleaned it and it is still doing it works freely by hand off the car but when the car is running it works hard its hard to push it up when it gets stuck up if you burp or just touch the throttle it releases back to closed more of the load hesitation is at low rpm bout 1750ish it clears up and runs great

I don't think the EGR will cause the symptoms you're having, its not good that it's sticking, but I don't think it's causing that issues BUT the EGR is attached to the 4th cylinder intake tube so that makes me wonder...