LegacyGT.com

Stress associated with working on cars...

Scruit

I have been working on cars as a hobby for 25 years. First 'job' i did was changing the oil in my mother's car (and finding that I had actually drained the manual gearbox instead of the engine... :lol: )

Since then my hobbyist resume includes many clutch swaps (FWD, RWD, AWD) A handful of rebuilt transmissions (auto and manual), engines (4cyl to V8) and one frame-up resto with hundreds of hours in it.

I have also done lots of mundane stuff like timing belts, converting a car to power steering, replacing radiators, AC compressors and evac/fill, HGs, injectors etc. More alternators and starters than I can remember...

Here's my question:

How many of you get stressed out towards the end of bigger jobs, like engine swaps or trans rebuilds?

The problem I have is that when it comes time to start up a newly rebuilt engine I find myself stressing out about it to the point where it has made me slow to a crawl on a project. I can be 1 hour of work from being completed, but it can take a a months or two to pluck up the courage to DO the work and turn the key.

It's all based upon confidence. I have had a couple of big "comebacks" (I never did this for a job so the "comeback" is my wife or myself) on transmission work, and the fear of that sinking feeling you get when you realize you have to do it all again and it'll be another 6 hours of work is something that really stresses me out. (I had one trans that I went through 3 times. First comeback was due to a spring clip that had weakened and fallen out of place, and the next was an oil leak due to my putting a tiny knick in a seal surface while cutting a bearing race off.

I can do smaller jobs all day long and be just fine - but the thought of turning that key for the first time can make me sick to my stomach.

Am I alone?

IBYouNeedANewHobby. :spin:

every.single.time.