LegacyGT.com

Blown engine, need some advice

So I blew up my LGT the other day because I lost all of my coolant and burned up the oil and BAM thats how you blow an engine. I can't really do anything about that occurrence so I have moved on to the next step which is: What the hell do I do now??

I would like to know what some of you think I should do. First of all, I paid $6200 for it in January and it had 150k at that time. It currently has 163k and some change. Since January I have replaced the entire front clip (minus one fender and one headlight) due to an accident which cost me over $2000. I have also done some of the usual wear items as expected.

Should I drop in a new engine? By new I don't mean NEW I mean new to me. If I were to find another EJ255, are they all the same? Is there a difference between the WRX, FXT, OBXT, and LGT engines? Or should I just dump the car and sell it for what its worth? Oh, by the way, I'm a broke college student who is currently stuck at college with no car. Thanks in advance!

Take a look at my IDEA sticky up above. There are some listings on about page 6 I think that has several places for used engines with warranty. You might find a good used engine that way.

Also check out the FS threads here and see about part outs and also possible engines there for sale. There are a couple of people on here that sell refurbished short blocks and long blocks too and depending on what you find at the used engine places, that may be an option as well.

Good luck and keep us informed as to what you find.

If you have a small amount of cash for a rebuild I would instead buy an A-B beater to get through to a point where you're not a broke college student. Not what you wanted to hear, but these are expensive cars to get back to a reliable. state.