LegacyGT.com

Am I Crazy

Stig Family

So long story short....

I have an 08 DBM Legacy GT that just hit 50k on the odometer. My car is bone stock, and have never had anything done to it.

We just had our third kid and we have the Odyssey mini van as the family car and my car is just to drive to work and a few other activities.

I was playing around reading Jalopnik when they were talking about the BMW 335i. I had never really looked at BMW cars before but after reading the article I started playing around to see what is out there.

So new the 2010-2012 335i with x-drive, were about $60k. But now just a few short years later I can pick up one for around $20k with 35k miles or so.

So for just a few grand out of pocket, since I own my LGT, I could get into a twin turbo V6 BMW with 300hp.

Ultimate Driving Machine or Ultimate Money Pit?

There are lots of them for sale, so lots to chose from. Right now there is one in Bellingham at Roger Jobs Porsche/Audi for under $20k and has been through their service center prior to being offered for sale.

So I think for the most part they have been taken care of with some exceptions.

The early twin turbo inline 6 in the 3 series uses the N54 engines. The initial batch of e92 suffers from oil cooling issues that was rectified in 2009. Cars would go into limp mode at the track. The N54 had a lot of HPFP failure issues (High Performance Fuel Pump). I have a friend who had that replaced under warranty. I suspect that's caused by poor fuel quality in the US which 'shatters' the crystal waffers in the piezo-electric injectors. Broken pieces of those could have disintegrated the HPFP. VW TDI engines also had HPFP failure issues.