LegacyGT.com

Beginner upgrades

I recently bought a LGT 05, and want to do just some minor upgrades. A friend at work recommended running a stage 1 tune, and my other research tells me a good upgrade would be a catless up pipe. The car is 100% stock right now. Does anyone have any input? Do I have to buy the 5-6-700 dollar AP just to get the state 1 tune? I'm pretty much certain these are the only things I am going to do to the car (it has 95K, and I want it to last) so getting the AP seems a little pointless to me, if I'm not going to do anything else to it. Is there another way to get the stage 1 tune? I hear people talking about "chipping" their cars. Is there anything to that, or is it a ripoff? Also, I have read that you can run a stage 1 tune without any upgrades, and still see some performance increase. Is this true, and if so, why wouldn't Subaru manufacture the car to its top capabilities? I'm a little new to the Subbie world, so please don't get too, too technical :).

Welcome!

read this

http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/my05-09-legacy-gt-common-issues-230230.html

and read this

http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/covertrussians-05-lgt-build-thread-218363.html

a used AP V2 sub-002 can be had for $300-$350. Keep your eyes open in the members classifieds.

With the AP you can flash a COBB OTS stage 1 map, which will get you off the stock tune.

Definitely remove those banjo bolt filters, and have that TURBO checked out, if it's original it could be getting tired.

Again in the classifieds you can snag an sti catless UP for $50-$100.

I'm sure more experienced members will chime in, but I think this is a good starting point for under $500. EDIT: After all Basic maintenance requirements are met! :)

Good Luck!

Make sure you're up on basic maintenance before you do a single upgrade.