LegacyGT.com

Burning smell when getting off highway..not oil or coolant

Ok guys I am brand new to the Subaru world. Just bought an 05 Legacy Gt Limited Manual, 127k very well taken care of. I am the 3rd owner, have a stack of maintenance paper work from previous owners. Car drives straight, runs great. It has grimmspeed up pipe, VF52 turbo, 2012 wrx tmic, perrin catless downpipe, go fast motor sports exhaust 3in, wrx single mass flywheel and clutch, mishimoto radiator, street tuned on 19psi. Now that you know about the car my question to you is when I get off the highway driving 30mins to and from work I come to a stop and can smell something of a burning smell. Its not oil or coolant, more of a rubber smell maybe. I have absolutely no leaks under the car that i can visually see. The smell only lasts for 30secs to a minute, continue driving in city limits smell goes way and wont return until you go on highway or above 70mph. You can drive all over stop and go city limits with no smell. Now I have brand new tires 50 miles on them and the smell was there before I replace them. I have not gotten an alignment as I have only owned the car 2 weeks but she drives straight as an arrow no pulls. Old tires had no abnormal wear. I have made sure no inner fender liners are loose or rubbing. I have gotten out of the car as soon as I have pulled off the highway to try and pin point the smell from front to rear and I think its more to the rear. Differential fluid? but no leaks.

So I think I have ruled out the engine bay but still not 100%.

Any info will help me pin point this smell (it is also very strong and noticeable) I just dont wont to damage anything. I do all my own mechanics on all my vehicles so I am pretty good with cars. If anyone has any suggestions on checking specs on parts or anything I can do so to rule out more and more things.

Thank you to any that respond. Your time and help is much appreciated.

Not clutch or brake smell?