LegacyGT.com

Doing timing belt soon, Questions

1. Should I spend the extra $20 to get the Gates "blue high performance" kevlar belt? Does it actually matter?

2. I was also planning to replace the water pump and thermostat while I'm in there. I was also considering doing upper and lower radiator hoses, is that worth it?

3. What special tools do I need (if any) to take off the harmonic balancer and/or manipulate the crankshaft?

I watched some youtube videos about how to line up the marks and things, any other tips for doing this job? I've done a timing belt 10 years ago on a 3.0L Infiniti but never a Subaru, so any pointers would be nice. Thanks

Replace everything under the cover, get some oem tensioners and idlers as well. Hoses are optional I suppose and I have no experience with the gates kevlar belt.

Before teardown set the motor to tdc so that you do not have to move the crankshaft after taking the pulley/balancer off.

Did you read this thread.

http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/timing-belt-replacement-2-5t-106809.html

Answers are there.

IMO;

1. No, people hand issues with the "BLUE" coming off the belt & caking on the pulleys.

2. Yes, any hose that I have to remove to do a job that over 5-6yrs. old. I would replace.

3. Yes, get the right tool for the job, make job that much easier.

http://www.grimmspeed.com/crank-pulley-removal-tool-subaru/

Mileage:331487 Retired/Sold

3. the grimmspeed tool is slick, but I was able to hold it with two socket extenders in the large holes and a crow bar and still fit a 1/2 socket in there just fine. Used the $50 towards an OEM H2O pump and thermostat.

I also did acc belts since they were already off.

Definitely buy the crank pulley holder tool. The crank bolt is on there VERY tight.

Buy a whole complete gates kit. It comes with everything that is inside the timing cover except the thermostat, seals and coolant.

I personally won't replace the crank or cam seals unless they're leaking.