LegacyGT.com

First time Subaru owner and my cars body is in rough shape.

I've owned a Ford Focus before this but this is my first Subaru. I got the car for free after it sat for about 6 months under a tree. Due to this the front fender has a 3 inch hole in it and one rocker panel is completely gone. I have never had to do body work before and don't really even know where to begin. I'm a university student so I don't have a lot of money to get this done professionally

I was hoping that someone may be able to point me towards articles or videos on the best way to do body work without a welder.

Thanks for the help!

I've owned a Ford Focus before this but this is my first Subaru. I got the car for free after it sat for about 6 months under a tree. Due to this the front fender has a 3 inch hole in it and one rocker panel is completely gone.

Better late than never, welcome. Any pictures?

the best way to do body work without a welder

Depending on the scope of the damage, That could be interesting. :eek:

http://i1270.photobucket.com/albums/jj605/Idahorec/018D0056-B409-4CB4-A1CF-5D1910F2C2D5-670-0000006BD1235A65_zps52125e23.jpg

The front fender is easily replaced so I wouldn't bother trying to fix it. The rocker panel could be (theoretically) fixed by cutting out the metal and JB welding in some sheet metal. I saw a guy do this on his Explorer on a forum a while back but not an ideal fix. Check out my bodywork thread for an idea on how much work it is to fix a rear quarter panel: http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/monkeyposeurs-hatch-replacement-and-body-work-thread-175934.html

Post some pics so we can see the damage and give you a better idea of what a repair would entail.

But first things first. Start with some maintenance (plugs, wires, timing belt, filters, etc.)

well....Monkey is right about the fender....they can be picked up all day long at a yard and are normally in decent/good shape.