LegacyGT.com

Honest, hard working tools for cheap

As an utter tool newbie, I thought a thread for those like me and on a budget would be helpful. We all understand the importance of reliable, long lasting tools, but sometimes expensive doesn't always mean good, and you can find value in unexpected places.

To that end, list here your experience with cheap but good tools, or tools that are great for the money, as well as maybe tools to steer clear of.

Most of my tools are Craftsman Tools. I also have cheap crap from harbor freight for certain stuff (1/2" breaker bar, axle nut socket) stuff that I don't need to use all the time really.

276hp/347tq On a DynoJet

Dyno Video - Had a big lean spot as you can tell in the second pull

I'm in the market for a pancake compressor for light duty like tire inflation, painting fence etc. for around $100. Harbor Freight has them on sale but I think I'd rather go with a Porter Cable than Central Pneumatic, or are they about the same in terms of reliability?

If you are going to buy a compressor always make sure it has an oil lubricated pump and not the oilless ones.

They burn up over time, and are pretty much worthless because you cant buy parts for the oil free ones.

The best on the market are Emglo or Jenny (same company), Bostich, and Porter Cable assuming you buy the oil lubricated versions. I used to frame houses and I have the same Emglo AirMate my dad gave me 15 years ago, and it still works great.

In that case I think I'll gamble with a Central Pneumatic compressor.

In wondering what capacity I should get it if I end up using impact wrenches so that it doesn't start up all the time. You gave me research homework :)

• Moderators
In that case I think I'll gamble with a Central Pneumatic compressor.

In wondering what capacity I should get it if I end up using impact wrenches so that it doesn't start up all the time. You gave me research homework :)