LegacyGT.com

New Struts and Springs - Recommendations?

I need to replace all four struts on my '98 Legacy Wagon L. Although I could probably get away with using the original springs, I am looking into replacing the springs at the same time as the struts. I recently upgraded the OEM 14" steel wheels to 15" Konig Lace wheels and a set of 195/60R15 Michelins.

I've read through the numerous suspension and maintenance stickies here and elsewhere. I'd like to hear from you all on your recommendations for specific parts and sources for new struts and new springs. If it is relevant, I live in San Antonio, TX, and my Subie currently has 102K miles on the original engine and brake system.

I'd like to get struts and springs that retain the same height (or even raise it an inch). In addition, I want the OEM 'feel' as far as ride comfort and handling. This car is predominantly a daily driver and I want a comfortable ride first and handling second. As a disabled vet, I am very limited in my physical abilities and can only physically handle minor car repairs. As such, I will likely be hiring someone to install the struts and springs.

With these requirements in mind, please reply with a recommendation for new struts and new springs. In addition, if there are additional parts that are needed or recommended (i.e., strut mounts), please advise. Finally, if you know a good shop in San Antonio, please recommend a mechanic as well.

Thanks in advance for your help.

On my Outback, I replaced the springs with OEM springs, and the struts with KYB GR-2s. They are OEM replacements, but about 10% stiffer than stock. So not hard, but a tiny boost in stiffness to go along with your slightly larger wheels. I think that's a good place to start if you are looking for some good struts at a cheap price...

definitely go with gr-2s as a replacement strut, you could also get the ag-xs made for the impreza - they're a bit stiffer still and are adjustable..