LegacyGT.com

50k, time to replace rotors?

SlickSpur

I do get some vibration in the steering wheel when hard braking. I'm on the original pads and rotors. Replacing pads now (50k), should I swap the rotors as well, or just turn them (or just put new pads on).

Ideally, I'd just swap the pads. I've read some on here saying you could just use sand paper, and some said just some hard braking on the new pads will get any old pad residue off. Since I've never done a brake job, I'd love to only have to replace the pads, but I don't know if the vibration indicates I need to swap the rotors (or the mileage for that matter).

I'm not an expert, so somebody else can chime in and correct me if I'm wrong. I've read that it is best to at least turn the rotors when you put new pads on, especially if you are using a different pad than the original. And for the relatively low cost, it would seem like an obvious thing to do.

50k sounds like low mileage to need new rotors. I'm still on my stock rotors at 78k. I get some vibration from time to time, but it goes away. The last time it was bad I just had the pads replaced and the rotors cleaned, we didn't have to turn them.

We did go through the process of bedding them in, but that was about it.

If you're getting the pads replaced, have the shop check the rotors and they should be able to tell you if replacement is needed.

50k sounds like low mileage to need new rotors. I'm still on my stock rotors at 78k. I get some vibration from time to time, but it goes away. The last time it was bad I just had the pads replaced and the rotors cleaned, we didn't have to turn them.

We did go through the process of bedding them in, but that was about it.

If you're getting the pads replaced, have the shop check the rotors and they should be able to tell you if replacement is needed.

I'm going to be doing it myself.