LegacyGT.com

Lexus IS250 awd or Benz GLK

My wife recently got into an accident with her '10 IS250, and it's likely totalled. We are looking for another '10-11 IS, but they are pretty tough to find with the back up camera and nav options that her last one had. That led us on a search for something with similar options that was near the $30-35k range, and she really likes the styling of the '10-11 MB GLK.

My fear is that the reliability of Mercedes vehicles pales in comparison to a lexus product, so I'm wondering if anyone has any first hand experience with the GLK models.

We are also loosely considering the c300 4matic, new ford fusion, and chevy volt, but she really wants AWD, luxury, back up camera/nav, and/or park assist. Warranty is a must.

I have no experience with new mercs but if you are looking at the ford fusion and the price range is 30k or so look at a lincoln MKZ. They have a AWD option, the v6 or the hybrid can both be found for 30-35k with 10k or less miles.

Nav and backup cameras are easily acquired aftermarket options. If she really loved her IS there's no reason not to get another one because it's missing some things available at Car Toys. Good luck with your search.

If you had an idea how many accidents come across my desk where drivers say "was not in my backup camera", you'd try to talk your wife out of getting/relying on one ;)

On a Suburban yes, on an IS she should stay in the kitchen.

What I am saying is stick with the IS as much as you can. Inquire as to maintenance costs for MB and you will see why ;)

Nav and backup cameras are easily acquired aftermarket options. If she really loved her IS there's no reason not to get another one because it's missing some things available at Car Toys. Good luck with your search.

Not really too keen on any of the aftermarket stuff out there. Just looks out of place having an extra screen, or an in dash unit that doesnt work with the steering wheel controls.