LegacyGT.com

Total noob question on oil changes....

Ok so I changed the oil in my 09 LGT today. I have done many oil changes before (Other cars) but none with this so called crush ring.

when I removed everything I just had it drop onto the oil pan. I assumed the crush ring was for the filter. :confused: , but now I am reading that maybe it was for the drainplug.

first possible stupid thing was I decided to reuse the crush ring. My bigger concern is I put it on the filter and not the drain plug...:redface:

can someone clear this up for me....did I do this wrong? I didn't notice any leaks :whoknows:

• Mega Users

ya you did it wrong, but I dont think its going to matter. I wasnt used to this at first either.

the crush ring goes on the drain plug, not the oil filter. You should replace it with a new one during every oil change.

I didn't know this at first either, and I just used the same crush washer for the drain plug. Mine started leaking after like 4 changes. Just replace it everytime. They are like a 1.20 at the stealership. I just bought like 10 at once.

Most likely you are going to have oil leaking under your car now.....

"Remember Danny - Two wrongs don't make a right but three rights make a left."

ya you did it wrong, but I dont think its going to matter. I wasnt used to this at first either.

the crush ring goes on the drain plug, not the oil filter. You should replace it with a new one during every oil change.

I didn't know this at first either, and I just used the same crush washer for the drain plug. Mine started leaking after like 4 changes. Just replace it everytime. They are like a 1.20 at the stealership. I just bought like 10 at once.

Most likely you are going to have oil leaking under your car now.....

hmmm ok that sucks :mad: