LegacyGT.com

testing & questions for used 05-09 GTs

COJohn

All, I'm a newbie looking to see what diligence I should do before purchasing a GT. I've been looking at 5-9 GTs, preferably manual, but I've seen a couple autos as well. The vehicles have been ranging from 40k - 90k miles. I'm trying to really get my head wrapped around GTs to see if the extra maintenance is worth the risk of getting one to only have engine/turbo issues shortly after. Of course I'm trying to find the right vehic. that has perfect records of all maintenance, but many of the options do NOT have this.

Regarding testing: what would be recommended that I do/have done before a purchase? I've thought about having the oil & coolant checked as well as visual inspection to verify no head gasket issues. I've heard it might be worth dropping the oil pan to see if metal is sitting at the bottom indicating maybe a turbo/engine issue. I've seen some recommend a compression/leak-down test. Out of these, what are the priorities and what else should I consider?

Also, please point me in the right direction, or help me gauge reliability of the major components: engine, turbo, & tranny. SPECIFICALLY: how many miles seems to be the average (if that exists) for these major components?

I had a '98 outback w/ the 4EAT and had head gasket issues, engine oil leaks, tranny clutch pack replacements, etc. It worked great and seemed fairly reliable, but I spent more than I wanted on some big ticket maitenance that I wasn't expecting for a Subaru.

Thanks again!!

• 2 weeks later...