LegacyGT.com

belt broke during start.. valves ok?

ok so the belt broke last night after a good 2-3weeks of solid perfect running. now i try to start the car and nothing, .. i imediatly looked the engine over because its always fired up. so i look it all over, nothing wrong. tried to start again. nothing. so i look in the crack on the timing cover and the belts nowhere to be found. it didnt break while driving must have broke while starting,. what are the chances the valves didn't get bent? might i just need a new belt or am i gonna need to replace the valves?

yes i guess the chip in the 1 cam sprocket fucked up the belt. im not good at listening i gotta learn the hard way i hate it.

2 weeks ago i replaced head gaskets, intake valves, and belt. but while i was tightening the cam sprocket for the driver side ex cam a buddy of mine decided to hold it in place with a crow bar while i was tightening it and cracked a tooth on the cam. i didn't think much of it, it was a small chip and wasn't very big and i was warned but suborn me didn't listen. i just got back from the junk yard, there was a legacy outback with a 2.5 in it, the cam sprockets were in perfect condition along with the belt idlers and waterpump, the belt still had the markings and writing on it, looks like it was all just replaced. what luck!!! so i took the waterpump and belt n idlers and timing cover. now the motor looks identical. the 97 outback and 97 legacy motors r the same right?

only if they both have 4 cam sprockets.

the outback is / should be an ej25.

the legacy L is / should be ej22.

the legacy GT is / should be ej25.

the ej22 and the ej25 do not use the same timing belt. but all other timing components are the same for 1999 and earlier.

later in phase 2 engines, 00 - 01, the ej22 and the ej25 used the same belt.

• I Donated

"this content is unavailable" error on your pictures.