LegacyGT.com

pulsing sensation on acceleration

I'm new to turbos and the way mine behaves on acceleration puzzles me.

My 5MT GT has 2000 miles (3000km) on it.

I have read the posts on "stuttering" and have noticed my gt does seem to stumble at about 2500 rpm. I presume thats what is meant by stuttering.

That's not my concern. I was wondering if the problem I describe below is something different.

The problem I am curious about occurs when I apply heavy throttle, especially in second gear.

Instead of coming on smoothly as usual , (rrrrrrrrrrrrmmmmmmmmmmmmMMMMMM *shift*) the power sometimes comes on in a series of short surges until I get up to 5000 RPM or so (rrrrmmmmmmmmmm-rrrrrimm-rrrrrimm-rrrrrimm-rrrrrimm-rrrrrimm-rrrrrimm-mmmmmmmmmMMMMMM *shift*) There is always plenty of torque but it comes on in little surges. No stutter, no miss or hiccup, just a pulsing, surging sensation as the power comes on unevenly.

This happens from time to time when I accelerate smoothly from a roll at to full throttle as well as when I just nail it to the floor. It doesn't seem to matter if the car is warmed up.

Can anyone tell me what this is, why it occurs, and whether I should be concerned about it?

I don't think that I have ever felt that type of hesitation on mine. Above 3000 rpm it should pull smoothly and evenly right to redline.

Perhaps a trip to the dealer is the best course. Maybe you could drive another Legacy to see if you feel a difference

Most likely due to ECU pulling timing due to knock. It's protecting your engine at the expense of performance. I used get that in my WRX until I stopped buying shitty gas at getto gas stations. A quick way to find out is to dump in some good gas along with some octane booster. It should go away.

Fred