LegacyGT.com

Intake w/o tune

magnoon

installed spt intake, but w/o tune. i reset the ecu, the car seems to be running fine but the forum seems to say that I am "running lean"... two questions:

1) what is running lean??

2) am i causing any damage to my engine, even though the car seems to be running fine?

I am no mechanic but here are my thoughts....

1- lean means having too much air in your air-to-fuel mix, I think you are better off rich than lean.

2- yes it can be bad, just because the car "seems" to be running fine, doesn't really mean anything. Don't be cheap with a car, spend extra money to buy a cable and tune for the car. You probably would have been better off spending the money on the tune as opposed to the cai.

running lean = too much air not enough fuel.

Damages? Leaner fuel mixtures are more prone to pre-detonation. Which can lead to a cracked piston ringland. Which means new motor.

^ +1 Never add an intake to a Subaru without getting a tune.

If you simply want more noise there's a thread on removing the intake silencer:

http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/intake-silencer-removal-walk-through-110580.html?t=110580&highlight=silencer+removal

Also the SPT is one of the worst intakes you can add due to problems with where it positions the sensor. It is supposedly worse than the stock intake if you do some searching.

Everyone here will tell you the same thing. Put the stock intake back on until you can get a tune. Better safe than sorry and the job will only take a few minutes anyway. In addition I would sell your SPT intake and get a K&N, AEM or Perrin. Basically anything but the SPT. I'm not the saltiest dude here when it comes to Subarus so don't take my word as gospel but I wouldn't ignore it either. Happy tuning! :-)

2012 Xterra Pro-4X

2003 Outback Sedan Limited

D.U.S.T.O.F.F.

"Dedicated Unhesitating Service To Our Fighting Forces"

done... stock is back on, will be selling the SPT, reccomendations?

COBB SF or K&N??