LegacyGT.com

1998 Subaru Legacy 2.5GT

I just bought this 98 subaru legacy 2.5gt and I was wondering what were the known problems with this car, if any. I wanna know what I should do or shouldn't do to my car. I wanna keep it for a while and build it up. Any suggestions on parts, brands, and places to get it would be awesome! I'm new to the whole car thing.

^1

bought a 98 same as yours with 180k on it 2 months ago. ive replaced both rear struts, one blew due to me treating my car like a jeep so i figured replace both at the same time. normal misc axel tie rod bearing etc one or two on each or the other side.

heat shield rattle is a big one, fixed mine best i could and it still rattles a little. next step would be removal. i also have some weird air intake and my engine shakes more than it should so that makes it worse i think.

still need a lower radiator hose, cam seals, some bushing in the transmission, my antenna snapped off, stepped in gum today got it all over my pedals, definitely something im forgetting.

think im gonna replace the knock and crank position sensor just because i dont know when it was done and they look old.. plus she backfires sometimes.. but i kinda like it.

http://img805.imageshack.us/img805/5932/0511011916.jpg

Headgaskets are a common problem with these cars but you just get them replaced when they blow. Just keep an eye on the temp gauge and if things start to heat up then get it towed to the shop. You don't need to replace them right when you get the car... Unless you bought the car with them blown. The previous owner might have already done it so just be sure to ask about that.

You never know.. Some people don't replace things that need replacing. It would be better to be safe than sorry.
true but i would be surprised if hes on the original t belt at 140k. then again like you said, never know maybe it was replaced at 70k and its time to replace it again soon.