LegacyGT.com

New to Subaru and I already have a problem

So Im new to the Subaru seen. I just bought my wife a 2005 Legacy GT Limited Wagon. It has 60k on it. I went up and test drove it twice and finally bought it today. I drove it about 50 miles to my home. I went out to leave a few minutes later and the check engine light came on and the cruise started flashing. Does any one have any suggestion what it might be. I tried tightening the gas cap and it hasn't shut off yet. Help Please

Do a code read asap, and see what it is.

I do have a suspicion about a P0420 which means a dead cat since it takes a while to reappear when it has been cleared. It may mean that the seller just cleared the code, sold the car and then you got that code back.

But it's hard to tell until you got a code read so do that and report back about what it is.

453747.png

Same problem here, just bought an 07 llbean outback h6. Lights came on same way, got code p0174 lean on bank 2. GMC dealer we bought it used from thinks its the 02 sensor. Doesn't run rough, I had cleaned the MAF and it still comes back. Will share what I find. Seems like if it is lean on only one side then the MAF that is involved in both banks would cause both to read lean not just one. So Im guessing either a vacuum or intake leak on bank 2 or the 02 sensor. Seems like a leak would cause it to run rough though, am I wrong?

You haven't given us enough information for us to tell you what's up.

As others have said, find out what the code is, then we can help you.

It could be anything from a loose gas cap, to something relatively inexpensive (such as a fuel injector -- the most recent repair done on my car), to something big. We have no way of telling you yet what it is.

Best wishes.

So I got the code it's p0011. They it's either

1. Timing over advance or performance bank (1)

2. Low or dirty oil

3. Blocked oil passage

4. Timing belt misalignment

5. Failed AVCS solenoid