LegacyGT.com

98 Legacy Gt Limited Rough Running Problems Help Needed

I have a 1998 Legacy Gt Limited and I recently had the engine rebuilt, after I picked it up from the shop I put a new battery in it but made a really stupid mistake and put the battery in backwards, after which the car locked up it turned out to be a relay, after replacing that the car would start again but since has run very rough. When going up a hill the car seems to stutter and sometimes the engine will accelerate but will not put power to the wheels, also if you hold the brakes and press the gas at the same time the car will also stutter as if it is missing and will not try to push forward as a car should in this situation, the car doesn't like to accelerate at all and the check engine light flashes constantly, I tried replacing the computer but this had no effect, does any one have any ideas, I love this car, but I am a broke college student and don't really have the money to take it to a shop.

Thanks,

Cassidy

Have you had the codes pulled? It sounds like you may have fried a sensor which is causing a misfire. If you have an autozone around you go there and ask them to pull the codes, they will do it for free, then post the code they give you here and we can help you out more.

I pulled the codes today here is what I got

P0500 VSS or circuit malfunction

P1540 VSS or circuit malfunction

P1101 Neutral Position Switch Circuit High Input

P1121 Neutral Position Switch Circuit Low Input

The car has started idling very low in park and a little rough the passenger side seems to hiccup fairly frequently and when you press the accelerator it doesnt respond at first and the rpms drop then it accelerates but makes a loud knocking/scratching sound which scares me

can anyone help me? thanks

also it says MIL off is that a concern?
this just means that the check engine light is off.

is it?

P0500 VSS or circuit malfunction

P1540 VSS or circuit malfunction