LegacyGT.com

Heat Shield for an SPT Intake?

I have an 05 legacy gt, and I just bought an SPT intake for it. I wanted to hear the turbo more, i know its really not going to give me any noticeable gains. Is a tune necessary, and is the spt heatshield necessary? For the heatshield they say it seperates the cold air from the warm air of the engine, I don't know if I really buy that because our cars have a hood scoop that puts fresh air into the engine bay (especially the intercooler).

I'm trying to figure this intake thing out myself. I'm new to subaru and turbos, but I just assumed the first thing I'd do is put an intake on. From what I have seen and read though that may not be such a good idea. Everyone seems to agree that if you get a new intake you should do a tune for it. I've seen several say to only get a aftermarket drop in filter, and others say that you should leave the stock air box and filter until you get close to pushing 400 rwhp.

condensed version.

if you use the intake I would also get the heatshield and do a tune for it. ANYONE WITH MORE EXPERIENCE THAT CAN ADD SOME INSIGHT???

thanks for the responses, i mean the reason i went with the spt intake is that it doesnt void the warranty. its also made by subaru, so i would think you wouldnt need a tune for it? it will pull a lot more air in than the stock air box, so maybe i should reset the ecu by unplugging the battery when i get it? im having it done at ecs performance in windsor locks, ct. if a tune is necessary, how much do tunes cost? i have an automatic so i really dont want to up the power too much. thoughts?