LegacyGT.com

Help me find the right model SUV for my wife

Help me find the right model SUV for my wife, please.

- 2007-2010, $18-$25k, under 45k miles

- Small to mid size, AWD

- “Style” very important, wants a luxury city SUV (no off-road)

I’m just getting started with research and am looking to buy in the next 60 days. Right now the models I’m considering are the Mercedes ML500 or ML 320, Infinity FX35 or FX45, or Lexus RX350. I’m not sure what else I should consider or if any of these are worth avoiding. My favorite of the bunch right now is the FX45, but it will be the wife’s decision. Not sure if there are any “cross” vehicles that we should consider.

I can pay cash or trade her ’04 Accord.. I usually buy/sell private party but I am not looking forward to paying tax on ~$25k outright… if I can trade her Honda in at least my tax bill would be considerably less, but then again I’ll lose $$ trading it in versus selling it outright. I still need to figure that out too. Will pay cash (HELOC, really), so may go private party to purchase...

Any insight appreciated!

My '05 LGT

My '07 Supercharged Shelby

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply
The ML isn't a bad truck. By 2008 or so all of the usual new body style gremlins should have been worked out and a CPO'd one shouldn't be hard to find. Like any SUV or truck, they eat up tires and brakes. Now and then we'll see tie rods or rear struts on them needing replacement but that's not as common as it is on the late 90's ML. If you find a V8, they actually have some good power, too. The newer V8 (273 engine code) rips quite well in them.

What about a BMW X3?

My favorite suggestion so far! Right now I'm thinking X3 or FX45... with the RX330 still a consideration.

Range Rover? While I find these somewhat cool, I don't want one in my garage,

My '05 LGT