LegacyGT.com

Car won't start...

So I'm new to Subaru from Audi... And I've already run in to some problems :eek: I bought a 99 Legacy GT with the EJ25 engine. Unbeknownst to me, I bought a car with a head gasket problem... No biggie, I pulled the engine out and re-did the heads and put an updated gasket on and torqued to Subaru spec. Put the engine back in the car and it started up and ran fine. Drove it up and down the block and it shifted a little hard but it hadn't moved in 4 days so I didn't think much of it. I parked the car back in my drive way and just let it run to ensure the overheating problems were behind me. Well... the car died and won't start back up. The heat gauge tacked all the way up and the main fan runs non-stop and the check engine light is on and the radio works (with the key out of the ignition of course). One more thing... Subaru said there weren't any codes present. :eek:

Any ideas where to begin looking? Seems like an electrical problem to me. The guys at the Subaru dealership are stumped...

no no kaz. i dont think thats the problem.. you said that it over heated and YOU turned it off or it died. if it died it is probably seized. but if its not that my guess would be that the car wont turn on casue it was hot. and the cel is telling you theres a problem that needs to be address before i let you start me again. reset the ecu and try starting.

oh oops haha I thought you killed it because the temp had climbed and everything. well...I'm with amp on that. start there, see where things go. but that definitely sounds electrical, unless...how did it die? what did you notice when you let it sit and then it just quit?

try what amp said and disconect your battery for a few minutes, check all fluids, coolant and oil to make sure your at the right levels, a leaky headgasket could mean loss of coolant which im sure you would of corrected but just making sure

Just read you have actually taken the car in to subaru,