LegacyGT.com

P0304 shop says valve seal loose?

whperreault

96 impreza outback 2.2 I have been chasing a P0304 misfire code for 3 years. I have replaced the coil pack, plugs wires... the list goes on. today I took it into a highly recommended Mechanic and he said that after taking the exhaust manifold down to look inside, he saw that the valve seal had come loose, and that the engine would have to be pulled, and the manifold taken to a machine shop to have the valve reseated. has anyone ever heard of this? I have handled many jobs including rebuilding a 87 Honda Carb (I was told that this was one of the most difficult carbs to rebuild) I have never pulled a manifold. how difficult would this be, and does this sound like a reasonable explanation?

The valve seal isn't in the manifold at all. It's in the cylinder head.

There are valve guides, which are holes bored into the cylinder head with the valve stem protruding through. One side goes to the valve's head, and the other side goes to the valve spring. To check if these are bad one would need to remove the head, pull the valve spring off, and pull the valve out. While removing the valve place one finger over the hole and completely pull the valve out of the head. If it makes a pop sound created by suction, the seal is good. Unless the car has removable oil seals pushed into the cylinder head that press into the block for the valves to slide into, you cannot see a seal through the exhaust port.

I'd say its time for a second opinion.

The PO304 code is the code for cylinder #4 misfire. Even if the engine was consuming oil it should still fire enough so that it wouldn't throw a PO304, to the best of my knowledge anyway.