LegacyGT.com

possible collapsing hydraulic lines?

I own a 1994 Subaru Legacy Turbo w/blow off valve. Just bought it this year. Never drove standard before, so I had to learn and ..... yes, I had to replace the clutch already.

Now, I am a good driver when it comes to my lil Suby BUT > I've noticed that after I have been driving for a while, whenever I go to shift into 2nd gear, it grinds. It seems to only do it when the transmission is really warmed up. Someone who works on Suby's told me I probably need a new transmission, and then some one else told me ...nah, it's just the Hydraulic lines collapsing. (It's not just my driving either, other family members who have driven my Suby have noticed the same thing).

Has anyone had this problem :icon_ques The car runs great other than this one little problem. It's seems to only happen when shifting into or down to 2nd gear and only after the car has been driven constantly for a while.

I also have grindage when putting it into reverse but if I let the car sit a few seconds in 1st gear and wind down, and then shift into reverse, it goes in alot easier without grinding. Again, this too seems to happen mostly after I have been driving it awhile.

I would like to find specs on how to change the lines out and put new on, but so far I'm coming up with nothing.

Any advice or help would be appreciated. :)

If it were the clutch hydraulic lines, the pressure inside them would cause them to expand, not collapse. They would burst or crack from rust long before they ever collapsed. Tell your friend he's an idiot.